Born in 1939 is a prominent Georgian poet. She graduated from Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University, the faculty of philology. Later, she continued her postgraduate studies. In 1974 she defended PhD thesis on “Artistic function of the Colour in Galaktion Tabidze’s Poetry”. She delivered lectures at the University and at the same time was a senior research-worker at Shota Rustaveli Institute for Georgian Literature. Since 1999 she has been a literature consultant at G. Tabidze Museum. Her first collection of poems Trees in the City was published in 1962, followed by other twelve books. Except poetry Lia Sturua has authored number of distinguished prose collections including: Happy Silence, Stone Dropped in Milk, What Ate the Vine? (a novel of perceptions). In addition she has published essays and articles and her poems are translated into German, French, English and Finnish languages. In 1997 the Norwegian television company made a film about Lia Sturua.


  • Vice Versa, Saunje Publishing, 2014
  • What Ate the Vine, Intelekti Publishing, 2013
  • Selection, Diogene Publishing House, 2013
  • The Forgetting Day, Publishing House Chveni Mtserloba, 2012 
  • The Sea is closed, Siesta Publishing House, 2009
  • 100 Verses, Intelekti Publishing, 2008 
  • Stone Dropped in Milk, Merani Publishing, 2002
  • One Hundred Sonnets and Others, Merani Publishing, 1999 
  • Happy Silence, Merani Publishing, 1996 
  • Contemplations at the Edge of the Sun, Merani Publishing, 1989 
  • Sonnets, Merani Publishing, 1987,
  • Verses and Poems, Sov. Georgia, 1986 
  • Trees in the City, Nakaduli Publishing, 1962


  • Honorary award SABA 2017 for the Contribution to the Georgian Literature
  • Literary award SABA 2013 in category the best poetry collection for The Forgetting Day
  • Shota Rustaveli State Prize 2000 for One Hundred Sonnets and Others 
  • Georgian State Award 1995 for her Artistic Work
  • Galaktion Tabidze Award 1988

In case of using the information, please, indicate the source.