1920-2007 was a famous Georgian writer, whose father and uncles fell a victim to the tragic events of 1924 in Georgia, caused by communist regime. The family was raided and evicted from homeland. He pub¬lished his first short story in 1940 in the magazine ‘Chveni Taoba’. Otar Chkheidze graduated from the West European Philology Department of Tbilisi State University In 1942. In 1950-1951 he was the Secretary of the Georgian Writers’ Union, later the member of the editorial boards of the literary magazines ‘Mnatobi’, ‘Tsiskari; and ‘Literaturuli Sakartvelo’. His artistic works cover a wide range of literary directions: short stories, assays, dramas and novels. Otar Chkeidze has written 22 novels in total, which are united under the cycle Georgian Chronicles. The whole of the twentieth and beginning of the twenty-first century is reflected in its twenty-two novels, stories, plays, essays and publicistic letters. The writer diligently followed the life and expressed rhythm and breathing of epoch with incomparable mastership. His novels: The Fog, The Mist, The Bridge of Tini, The Sinners demonstrate the writer's boundless imagination and creative energy. Most of Otar Chkheidze’s novels, which bravely revealed criticism of then existing regime, was written during the most severe times of soviet censorship, that was one of the reasons why his most acclaimed novel Fog, which was written in 1967 could be able to be published only many years later, in 1984. The novel became the basis of well-known Georgian film Travels of Young Musician, directed by Giorgi Shengelaia’s (1985). Otar Chkheidze’s recent novels, such as Artistic Revolution, White Bear, Bermuda Triangle, The Year 2001, and the latest 22nd novel Laser Show describe the events that took place in the period of the post communist regime in Georgia. Each of these works are created right after the historical events took place and are indeed true chronicles written as a work of art by impartial contemporary, which will be handed over to the next generation. Nowadays Otar Chkheidze is regarded as the artistic chronicler of the twentieth century. He was awarded the Literary Award SABA in 2005 and the Ilia Chavchavadze Award in 2006, both for the important contribution he made to the Georgian Literature.


  • The Dike (1956), Publishing House Chveni Mtserloba, 2012
  • The Forest Reserve, (1979) Publishing House Chveni Mtserloba, 2012 
  • The Shoal, (1972), Publishing House Chveni Mtserloba, 2012
  • Mist, (1955), Palitra L Publishing, 2011 
  • The Land, Intelekti Publishing, 2010
  • From Time to Time, Intelekti Publishing, 2010
  • Fog, (1984), Publishing House Chveni Mtserloba, 2006
  • Laser Show, Kutaisi publishing Centre, 2005 
  • The Year 2001, Lomisi Publishing, 2003 
  • The Obedient, Kutaisi publishing Centre, 2004
  • Artistic Revolution, Lomisi Publishing, 2002
  • Bermuda Triangle, Lomisi Publishing, 2001
  • White Bear, Lomisi Publishing, 1999 
  • Italian Journals of Byron, Nakaduli Publishing, 1996,
  • Cursed Generation, Lomisi Publishing, 1995.
  • Venetian Candelabra, Sakartvelo Publishing, 1995
  • Revelation. Apokalypsis, Merani Publishing House, 1989 
  • Mountain Range, Merani Publishing House, 1988 
  • Tsxratskaro, Merani Publishing House, 1980.
  • The Bridge of Tini, Sov. Georgia Publishing, 1968
  • Études of My Native Village, Nakaduli Publishing, 1963


  • Ilia Chavchavadze Award SAGURAMO 2006 for his Artistic Work
  • Honorary award SABA 2005 for the Contribution to the Georgian Literature

In case of using the information, please, indicate the source.