1933-2009 was a Georgian writer who played a prominent role in the resurrection of the Georgian prose in the post-Stalin era. His novels characteristically fuse Sumerian and Hellenic mythology with the predicaments of a modern Georgian intellectual. Otar Chiladze was born in Sighnaghi, a small town in Kakheti, the easternmost province of Georgia. He graduated from Tbilisi State University with a degree in journalism in 1956. His works, primarily poetry, first appeared in the 1950s. At the same time, Chiladze engaged in literary journalism, working for leading literary magazines in Tbilisi. He gained popularity with his series of lengthy, atmospheric novels, such as A Man Was Going Down the Road (1972-3), Everyone That Findeth Me (1976), Avelum (1995), and others. Otar Chiladze who became a Georgian classic author during his lifetime was awarded some Highest State Prizes of Georgia and in 1998 was nominated for the Nobel Prize along with five other writers. His works are translated into English, Russian, Estonian, Serbian, French, Danish, German, Bulgarian, Hungarian, Czech, Slovakian and Spanish. Otar Chiladze’s novels A Man Was Going Down the Road and Avelum translated by Donald Rayfield were published in the UK in 2012 and 2013. Chiladze died after a long illness in October 2009 and was buried at the Mtatsminda Pantheon in Tbilisi, where some of the most prominent writers, artists, scholars, and national heroes of Georgia are buried.


  • The Cloud, Intelekti Publishing, 2014
  • The Sky Starts on Earth, Intelekti Publishing, 2010
  • Poetry Collection, Pegasi Publishing, 2010
  • Eternity Ahead, Intelekti Publishing, 2009
  • 100 Poems, Intelekti Publishing, 2009
  • Tsete’s Red Boots, Pegasi Publishing, 2007.
  • Happy Martyr, Logos Press Publishing, 2003 
  • The Basket, Rustavi 2 Print, 2003, Arete Publishing, 2006 
  • The Stairs, Publishing Sani, 2003 
  • Avelum, Merani Publishing, 1995 
  • The March Rooster, Merani Publishing, 1987, Arete Publishing 2007 
  • Remember Life, Publishing Sov.Georgia, 1984, Pegasi Publishing, 2010
  • The Iron Theatre, Merani Publishing, 1981, Arete Publishing, 2007 
  • Anyone Who Findeth Me, Publishing Sov. Georgia, 1975, Arete Publishing, 2007 
  • The Other Side of Heart, Publishing Sov. Georgia,1974 
  • A Man Was Going Down the Road, Merani Publishing, 1973, Arete 2007 
  • Nine Long Poems, Publishing Sov. Georgia, 1969, 
  • The Child Humored the Guests, Merani Publishing, 1968
  • Clay Tablets, Publishing Sov. Georgia, 1963, 
  • Trains and Passengers, Publishing Sov. Writer, 1959


  • Literary Award SABA 2003 in category the best novel for The Basket 
  • Ilia Chavchavadze State Prize 1997 for Artistic Work
  • The State Prize of Georgia 1993 for his Contribution to the Georgian Literature
  • Shota Rustaveli State Prize 1983 for The Iron Theatre


In case of using the information, please, indicate the source.