Born in 1966 is a Georgian poet, writer, essayist and translator. He studied philosophy and psychology at the Tbilisi State University (1984-92) and holds a Masters degree in Philosophy. He pursued his post-graduate studies in the Department of Sociology (1992-94), but left a standard academic career to lead independent projects in Georgian and German literature. He has followed a non-traditional academic path for the past twenty years. In 1991, he founded a literary video-magazine Dato Barbakadze’s Magazine, which for two years was regularly performed at the Tbilisi State University. From 1991 to 2001, he taught courses in logic, the history of philosophy, aesthetics and introductory philosophy courses in several universities in Tbilisi. From 2002 to 2005, he lived in Germany and earned for living as a freelance writer, thereby studying philosophy, sociology and ancient history at the University of Münster. After returning to Tbilisi in 2005 Dato Barbakadze launched the project '20th Century Austrian Poetry', serving both as an editor and contributor. Dato Barbakadze has received prizes and literary scholarships outside Georgia. He is member of several international literary unions and societies, namely he has been a member of the European Writers’ Union - “Kogge” since 2007. He has published more than twenty books (poetry, prose, essays and translations). His books are published in German-speaking countries; some are translated into English and French, as well as in languages of post-Soviet countries.


  • Still Life With Snow and Other Poems, Bedouin Books, Port Townsend 2014,
  • In Defence of Memory, Mertskuli Publishing, 2013
  • Die Leidenschaft der Märtyrer. SuKulTur, Berlin 2012,
  • Wesentliche Züge und zwölf andere Gedichte. Mischwesen, Neubiberg 2010,
  • Short Prose 1990-2010, Mertskuli Publishing, 2010
  • Ars Poetica, Tbilisi, 2010
  • Die Poetik der folgenden Sekunde. Poesie und Prosa. Drava, Klagenfurt 2008
  • Poems 1984-2004, Mertskuli Publishing, 2008
  • Das Dreieck der Kraniche. Gedichte. Pop, Ludwigsburg 2007,
  • The Songs of Lake Embankment, Saari Publishing, 2004
  • Essential Steps, Mertskuli Publishing, 2001
  • Achilles’ Second Heel, Mertskuli Publishing, 2000
  • Negation of the Summary, Mertskuli Publishing, 1999)
  • A Roofbuilder, Mertskuli Publishing, 1995
  • One Minute or One Life Before the Journey, Mertskuli Publishing, 1994
  • Putting the Question, Mertskuli Publishing, 1994
  • Longing for Logic, Mertskuli Publishing, 1993
  • Mutation, Tbilisi, 1993
  • Condolences to Fall, Alternative Center for Art Publishing, 1991

In case of using the information, please, indicate the source.